St Kitts and Nevis's taxes at a glance
Structure used: Self-employed resident with a work permit and business license: no income tax on individuals; Unincorporated Business Tax of 4% on service receipts above XCD 2,000 a month; social security at 10% of the lowest income category allowed for consultants (XCD 900 a week). Bands are the effective tax on profit for a remote worker using this structure, with clients abroad and costs of 15% of revenue.
St Kitts and Nevis tax residency: no income tax to be resident for
The Inland Revenue Department states it plainly: income tax on individuals was abolished in 1980. With no personal income tax, there is no residence test deciding how much of your salary or savings the Federation can tax, and foreign income is untaxed whether or not you bring it in.
What decides your bill is what you do on the islands. The Unincorporated Business Tax Act taxes every person carrying on business in Saint Christopher and Nevis, defines business to include any profession or the provision of personal services, and leaves out only employment. It makes no exception for clients abroad.
How St Kitts and Nevis taxes an individual's income, by type
| Income | Tax in St Kitts and Nevis |
|---|---|
| Salary from employment | No income tax; Housing and Social Development Levy of 3.5% to 12% above XCD 2,253.33 a month, plus social security |
| Dividends and interest, local or foreign | Not taxed |
| Freelance or consulting fees earned while living on the islands | Unincorporated Business Tax of 4% on receipts above XCD 2,000 a month, plus 10% social security |
| Sales of goods | Unincorporated Business Tax of 4% on receipts above XCD 12,500 a month |
Unincorporated Business Tax: 4% of what you bill
Sections 4 and 5 of the Act set the tax at 4% of monthly gross takings, less XCD 2,000 (about $741) for services and XCD 12,500 (about $4,630) for goods. Gross takings means all receipts, cash or accrued, without any deduction, so rent, software and travel do not reduce the base. The quarterly return form applies the same rule as XCD 6,000 (about $2,220) of services and XCD 37,500 (about $13,900) of goods exempt each quarter, due within 15 days after the quarter ends.
| Revenue in Eastern Caribbean dollars | XCD 270,000, or XCD 22,500 a month |
|---|---|
| Unincorporated Business Tax: 4% of XCD 20,500 a month, 12 months | XCD 9,840 (about $3,640) |
| Social security: 10% of the XCD 900 weekly minimum for consultants | XCD 4,680 (about $1,730) |
| Total, 6.33% of profit | XCD 14,520 (about $5,380) |
At the highest social security category, XCD 1,500 (about $556) a week, contributions are XCD 7,800 (about $2,890) a year and the total is 7.69% of profit.
Because the base is gross receipts and the social security floor is fixed, the share of profit falls as revenue grows. The table runs the same consultant, with costs of 15% and social security at the XCD 900 (about $333) weekly minimum, at 3 revenue levels.
Business tax plus social security for a St Kitts consultant, by yearly revenue
| Revenue | Unincorporated Business Tax | Social security | Share of profit |
|---|---|---|---|
| $50,000 (XCD 135,000) | XCD 4,440 (about $1,640) | XCD 4,680 (about $1,730) | 7.9% |
| $100,000 (XCD 270,000) | XCD 9,840 (about $3,640) | XCD 4,680 (about $1,730) | 6.33% |
| $250,000 (XCD 675,000) | XCD 26,040 (about $9,640) | XCD 4,680 (about $1,730) | 5.35% |
A gross-receipts tax is cheap for high-margin work and brutal for thin margins. Section 5(5) gives a business a one-time choice to be taxed under the Income Tax Act on profit instead, and the choice cannot be reversed: tax paid that way counts as corporate tax.
4% of gross: the business it suits and the one it breaks
Suits
A software consultant on Nevis bills clients in Canada XCD 22,500 (about $8,330) a month and spends little. The tax is 4% of XCD 20,500 (about $7,590), or XCD 820 (about $304) a month, about 4% of profit.
Breaks
An online store run from Basseterre sells XCD 100,000 (about $37,000) of goods a month at a 5% margin. The tax is 4% of XCD 87,500 (about $32,400), or XCD 3,500 (about $1,300) a month, which takes 70% of the XCD 5,000 (about $1,850) profit unless the owner elects the profit-based route.
Social security for the self-employed
Under the Social Security Board's self-employed booklet, you pay 10% of a weekly income category you choose, from XCD 100 to XCD 1,500 (about $37 to $556) a week, but accountants, lawyers, architects, engineers and consultants may not choose less than XCD 900 (about $333). Contributions are counted per Monday in the month and paid monthly, within 1 month after the month ends, and late payment adds a fine of 5% a month. You can move 1 category up or down at the end of January or July.
VAT on a freelancer's invoices
Professionals reach the VAT registration threshold once their fees pass XCD 96,000 (about $35,600) in 12 months, according to the Inland Revenue Department's registration guide, so a consultant billing $100,000 a year is well over the line. The standard rate is 17% and the reduced rate 10%, and most exports are zero-rated, subject to conditions and to proof that the goods or services really were exported.
What employees pay instead of income tax
Wages carry the Housing and Social Development Levy. Since July 1, 2025, the Social Security Board deducts nothing up to XCD 520 (about $193) a week, then 3.5% of monthly wages up to XCD 6,500 (about $2,410), 10% of the slice up to XCD 8,000 (about $2,960) and 12% above; the employer pays a further 3% on all wages.
Running a one-person business from St Kitts and Nevis
- Get a work permit and a Business and Occupation Licence, which comes in 7 classes with fees from XCD 20 to XCD 2,000 (about $7 to $741).
- Register for the Unincorporated Business Tax and file the UBT-01 return within 15 days after each quarter, paying 4% of service receipts above XCD 6,000 (about $2,220) for the quarter.
- Register with the Social Security Board, choose a weekly income category (at least XCD 900, about $333, a week for professionals and consultants), and pay monthly.
- Register for VAT once fees pass XCD 96,000 (about $35,600) in 12 months, and keep evidence for every invoice you zero-rate as an export.
- Decide early whether a thin-margin business should make the one-time election to be taxed on profit under the Income Tax Act.
- File on time: the Inland Revenue Department charges XCD 100 (about $37) a month for a late business tax return, 10% of the tax for late payment, and 1% interest a month; a late Business and Occupation Licence costs XCD 50 (about $19) a day.
Ways to move to St Kitts and Nevis
| Route | Minimum income or investment | Permit length | Makes you tax resident | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Citizenship by Investment (Sustainable Island State Contribution) Source: ciu.gov.kn, checked September 28, 2026Investment route | Investment of $250,000 Source: ciu.gov.kn, checked September 28, 2026. Industry reports say a 2026 overhaul adds physical presence requirements | Not stated | Not applicableCitizenship carries no tax effect by itself. | Open |
| Work permit and business license Source: sknird.com, checked September 29, 2026. The IRD FAQ covers the Business and Occupation Licence and the duty of licensees to file tax returns, but says nothing about work permits or nomad visasSelf-employed route | Varies | Not stated | Not applicableA business run from the Federation registers for the Unincorporated Business Tax and social security. | Open |
Running your own company from St Kitts and Nevis
As a person, you pay nothing on dividends from your company, local or foreign, and with no income tax on individuals there are no controlled foreign company rules for you to meet. The question is the company's own position. The Inland Revenue Department requires every company incorporated in the Federation to file returns, and so must a non-resident company with a permanent business establishment there; a founder working full time from a home office on Nevis is the kind of fixed presence that raises that question.
A one-person online business run from the islands therefore has 2 realistic homes: a sole trader paying 4% of gross receipts, or a local company. The flat 4% on gross is the opposite of Antigua's business tax on net income at 0%, 8% and 25%: kinder to consultants with few costs, harsher to anyone reselling goods on thin margins.
David's note
For a consultant with high margins, 4% of gross is a small price for being lawfully self-employed on an island with no income tax. The hard part is the permit, not the tax, so I would sort the work permit and the business license before signing a lease.
US citizens living in St Kitts and Nevis
St Kitts and Nevis is not on the IRS list of income tax treaty countries or among the 31 countries with a US totalization agreement, and a St Kitts passport changes nothing for the IRS. You can exclude up to $132,900 of 2026 earnings under the foreign earned income exclusion. Self-employed, you owe US self-employment tax of 15.3% on 92.35% of net profit, about $14,130 on $100,000, which the exclusion does not reduce, on top of the Federation's 10% social security.
The costliest St Kitts mistake: treating the passport as a tax exit
A St Kitts passport does not end your old country's tax
The Citizenship by Investment Unit sets no mandatory travel or residency requirement, so the passport proves nothing about where you live. Stay in your old country, or keep a home there and keep going back, and its rules still make you resident and tax your worldwide income, whatever passport you carry.
The contribution itself is $250,000 for a main applicant or a family of up to 4, plus $10,000 of due diligence for the main applicant and $7,500 for each dependant aged 16 or over, and the main applicant sits an interview, virtually or in person. What it buys is the right to live on the islands, where your investment income is untaxed; it does not buy a tax status anywhere else.
Leaving your old country is a separate job, done under its own test, and the islands' lack of a residence test means there is no local tax status to set against the days, home or family you keep there.
Who St Kitts and Nevis suits, and who it does not
Good fit
- Investors who want a zero income tax citizenship and can pay the $250,000 contribution.
- People with investment income and an existing right to live in the Federation.
Poor fit
- Remote workers looking for a nomad visa: none exists.
- Low-margin businesses: the 4% Unincorporated Business Tax is charged on gross receipts, with no deduction for costs.
Recent tax and visa changes in St Kitts and Nevis
The Housing and Social Development Levy exemption threshold on employees' wages rose to XCD 520 a week (XCD 2,253.33 a month), with the minimum wage raised to XCD 500 a week. socialsecurity.kn
